New player and some questions!

Discussions and help for Bard's Tale I: Tales of the Unknown
Magburner

New player and some questions!

Post by Magburner »

Hi all.

I recently started playing BT1 on dos box. A game I last played in about 1989 when I was 11 or so!

I had some questions which I would love some thoughts on!

1.) AC below LO - what is the definitive answer on levels below this. I have read from people who have examined the code that ac below LO is not possible yet also people saying the game does indeed. tracks below -10...., obviously if never below -10 then can leave more equipment slots open.

2.) what are your thoughts on the best weapons? Am I right in thinking it is crystal swords for wa/pa and mournblades for hunters (or is it best to just give high level hunters a shield staff as you get ac and he has critical) This leads to...

3.) Death daggers/stone blades/wizwands never drop in the game? I presume you need to do the "all equipment" patch thing to get these?

Thanks!
drifting

Re: New player and some questions!

Post by drifting »

Magburner wrote: 1.) AC below LO - what is the definitive answer on levels below this. I have read from people who have examined the code that ac below LO is not possible yet also people saying the game does indeed. tracks below -10...., obviously if never below -10 then can leave more equipment slots open.
The game does not track below -10. The code basically does:

Code: Select all

if (ac < -10) then
  ac = -10
endif
Flanimal

Post by Flanimal »

It is my belief that BT1 (C64 version) does permit keep track of AC past -10.

You see, I used to not care about armour once my party were all LO, but I found that I was not able to run from some fights and that my characters never got the first hit in combat.

Years later, I took AC into consideration when equipping my party, so that my AC would be well below -10, and lo behold my characters started getting the first hit in combat rounds.